Morocco (Arabic: المغرب‎ al-Maghrib ; Berber:  "Amerruk" or "Elmeġrib"), officially the Kingdom of Morocco, is a country located in North Africa. It has a population of over 32 million and an area of 446,550 km². Morocco also administers most of the disputed region of the Western Sahara as the Southern Provinces, but Moroccan sovereignty over the territory is not recognized by any member state of the United Nations. Despite being situated in Africa, Morocco remains the only African state not to be a member of the African Union due to its unilateral withdrawal on November 12, 1984 over the issue of Western Sahara's admission as the Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic (SADR) in 1982.

Syndicate content
  • Recommend Us