Southern Italy

The Southern Italy or Il Mezzogiorno (Italian pronunciation:, meaning 'Midday') is the traditional term for the southern half of the Italian state, encompassing the southern section of the continental Italian Peninsula and the two major islands of Sicily and Sardinia. It coincides with the administrative regions of Basilicata, Campania, Calabria, Apulia, Molise, Abruzzo, Sicily, and finally Sardinia, that is considered as part of Southern Italy more for economic reasons than for cultural, historical or geographical reasons. Some also include the most southern and eastern parts of Lazio (Sora, Cassino, Gaeta, Cittaducale and Amatrice districts) within the Mezzogiorno, because these territories were part, along with all the already listed ones (except Sardinia), of the historical Kingdom of Two Sicilies.

Syndicate content
  • Recommend Us